Optometry and Ophthalmology MCQ part- 02

01. Lens develops from

  1. neural ectoderm
  2. surface ectoderm✓
  3. optic vesicle
  4. all of the above

02. Retina develops from

  1. surface ectoderm
  2. mesoderm
  3. optic vesicle✓
  4. embryonic fissure

03. Tarsal plate is situated in

  1. eyebrow
  2. eyelid✓
  3. lacrimal apparatus
  4. conjunctiva

04. Between epithelium and stroma of cornea lies

  1. Bowman’s membrane✓
  2. Descemet’s membrane
  3. endothelium
  4. none of the above

05. Lamina cribrosa is present in

  1. choroid
  2. ciliary body
  3. sclera✓
  4. retina

06. Suspensory ligament extends between lens and

  1. iris
  2. ciliary body✓
  3. choroid
  4. limbus

07. Which one of the following is not a true basement membrane?

  1. Descemet membrane
  2. Bruch’s membrane
  3. Lens capsule
  4. Bowman membrane✓

08. Which structure divides the lacrimal gland into two lobes?

  1. Orbicularis oculi
  2. Tarsus
  3. Whitnall ligament
  4. Levator aponeurosis✓

09. The approximate volume of the orbit is:

  1. 60mL 
  2. 10mL 
  3. 30mL✓ 
  4. 45mL

10. The intraorbital length of the optic nerve is

  1. 1 mm 
  2. 5 mm 
  3. 10 mm 
  4. 25 mm✓

11. The neuron of the 1st order in the visual pathway lies in which layer of retina

  1. inner plexiform
  2. outer plexiform
  3. optic nerve fibre
  4. none of the above✓

12. The nature of tears is

  1. Acidic
  2. Alkaline✓
  3. Neutral
  4. None
A pH of 7 is neutral. Less than that is acidic and more than that is alkaline. Tear is slightly

13. Blood supply to lens

  1. Long Posterior Ciliary Arteries
  2. Short Posterior Ciliary Arteries
  3. Ophthalmic artery
  4. None (Lens is avascular)✓

14. Innermost nuclear zone of lens

  1. Embryonic✓
  2. Fetal
  3. Infantile
  4. Adult
Above options are the four nuclear zones of lens. Innermost is embryonic, after that fetal then infantile and outer adult.

15. Approximately Volume of vitreous in ml

  1. 2.5
  2. 4.4✓
  3. 6.5
  4. 30

16. Main portion of Aqueous humor is formed by

  1. Active transfer✓
  2. Utrafiltration
  3. Diffusion
  4. None
Aqueous humor is formed by
A. Active transfer (secretion) (70%)
B. Utrafiltration (20%)
C. Diffusion (10%)

17. Lens capsule is thickest at

  1. Posterior pole
  2. Anterior pole
  3. Equatorial region
  4. Para equatorial region✓
Capsule is thinnest ar posterior pole

18. Y shaped sutures are present in

  1. Embryonic nucleus
  2. Fetal nucleus✓
  3. Infantile nucleus
  4. Adult nucleus
There are two Y sutures in fetal nucleus of lens

19. Thinnest wall of orbit is

  1. Medial✓
  2. Lateral
  3. Inferior
  4. Superior
Thickest wall is lateral

20. Minor arterial circle is present on

  1. Pupillary border
  2. Collarette✓
  3. Within the iris stroma
  4. At the root of iris
Embryological remnant near the collarette known as minor arterial circle. Collarette divides iris into central pupillary zone and peripheral ciliary zone Major arterial circle is present in the root of iris.

21. Lamina fusca is a part of

  1. Cornea 
  2. Iris 
  3. Sclera✓ 
  4. Retina
Lamina fusca is thin layer of pigmented connective tissue on the inner surface of the sclera of the eye, connecting it with the choroid

22. Which tear layer contains immunoglobulin A?

  1. Mucin layer
  2. Lipid layer
  3. Aqueous layer✓
  4. Glycoprotein layer
IgA is secreted into the lumen of the main and accessary lacrimal glands, which form the aqueous layer. It plays a role in host defense mechanisms.

23. Which one of the following contributes to the aqueous layer of the tear film?

  1. Glands of Wolfring✓
  2. Glands of Zeis
  3. Goblet cells
  4. Meibomian gland
The aqueous component of the tear film is secreted by the main lacrimal gland, glands of Krause, and glands of Wolfring. The goblet cells secrete the mucin layer. The meibomian glands secrete the lipid layer with some contribution from the sebaceous glands of Zeis.

24. Which bone is not part of the medial orbital wall?

  1. Maxilla
  2. Sphenoid
  3. Zygomatic✓
  4. Ethmoid
The medial orbital wall is formed from the following four bones: frontal process of the maxilla, lacrimal bone, orbital plate of the ethmoid, and the lesser wing of the sphenoid.

25. Which structure does not pass through the superior orbital fissure?

  1. Ophthalmic artery✓
  2. Frontal nerve
  3. CN III
  4. CN IV
The superior orbital fissure transmits the lacrimal nerve, frontal nerve, CN IV, and
superior ophthalmic vein outside the annulus of Zinn. Within the annulus of Zinn, the superior orbital fissure transmits CN III, nasociliary nerve, sympathetic roots of ciliary ganglion, and CN VI. The ophthalmic artery travels with the optic nerve and the sympathetic fibers from the carotid plexus in the optic foramen.

टिप्पणी पोस्ट करा

0 टिप्पण्या